

President's Action Committee on Anti-Racism (PACAR) September 7, 2022, 4 – 6 PM via Teams

Minutes

Attendees: A. Cockshutt, G. Gallimore, K. Hanscomb, C. Morales, O. Nzindukiyimana, S.

Price, S. Skinner, A. Sylliboy, E. Yeo (Co-Chair), L. Delorey (Recording secretary)

Regrets: M. Fogerty, E. Mulvihill, K. Prosper, R. Upshaw (Co-Chair),

Invited Guest: K. Arthurs

1. E. Yeo (Co-chair) called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone.

- 2. E. Yeo asked the committee to keep two people in their thoughts and prayers. Robert's partner, Sharon, and Mary Isaac.
- 3. The agenda was approved. Moved: K. Hanscomb, Seconded. A. Sylliboy
- 4. The Minutes from August 17, 2022 were approved. Moved: K. Hanscomb, Seconded, O. Nzindukiyimana
- 5. Co-chairs Update
 - Elizabeth discussed some updates because of PACAR's recommendations, which will be shared campus wide, next week
 - i. Re: communications, a new student services webpage, improving the navigation to services and supports
 - ii. StFX has hired a F/T Human Rights & Equity Response & Prevention person
 - iii. Also hired is a P/T person to bring lived experience from the African NS community to support through investigations
 - iv. The new Peer Mentor program has been implemented and a full day orientation session for first-year students from the Black & Indigenous communities was held, under Megan and her team's support
 - Elizabeth will send a written summary to the community



- Plans are underway for T&R Day, Sept 30th, and Treaty Day, Oct 1st; stay tuned for updates
- Action K. Hanscomb to send edited land acknowledgement to committee for feedback
- 6. Review Accountability Framework
 - Kerri continued review of the working document, with much discussion
 - Kerri asked for recommendation from this committee on a timeline for action.
 - Elizabeth suggested all recommendations and actions be completed by April 30th, 2023, when PACAR's TOR will expire.
- 7. We will schedule an additional meeting prior to the next meeting, September 28, 2022 Lynne will send a doodle poll.
- 8. Meeting adjourned 6:00 PM.

Members 2020-2021-2022

Amanda Cockshutt, Faculty
Megan Fogerty, Staff
Gord Gallimore, Student
Krista Hanscomb, Staff
Che Morales, Student
Ella Mulvihill, Student
Ornella Nzindukiyimana, Faculty
Shelley Price, Faculty
Kerry Prosper, Indigenous Elder
Sabrina Skinner, Community
Ann Sylliboy, Community
Robert Upshaw, Co-Chair
Elizabeth Yeo, VP Students Co-Chair
Lynne Delorey Recording Admin