

President's Action Committee on Anti-Racism (PACAR) October 5, 2022, 4 – 6 PM

Minutes

Attendees: A. Cockshutt, M. Fogerty, G. Galimore, C. Morales, S. Price, K. Prosper, A. Sylliboy S. Skinner, R. Upshaw (Co-Chair), E. Yeo (Co-Chair), L. Delorey (Recording secretary)

Regrets: K. Hanscomb, E. Mulvihill, O. Nzindukiyimana

Invited Guest: K. Arthurs

- 1. R. Upshaw, co-chair called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone.
- 2. Elder Prosper gave the Land Acknowledgement.
- 3. The agenda was approved as circulated. Moved: A. Cockshutt, Seconded. A. Sylliboy
- 4. The Minutes from September 14, 2022, were approved. Moved: E. Prosper Seconded, S. Price
- 5. No Business arising from the Minutes.
- 6. Co-chairs Update
 - Elizabeth updated the committee on this year's Welcome Day activities, we have 4 senior peer mentor students from the black community and 4 from the Mikmaw community engaging with new students
 - Action: Megan will send bios to the committee of the student mentors
 - Jocelyn Gabriel was hired as the new Human Rights Education & Response advocate
- 7. Review Accountability Framework
 - K. Arthurs discussed the framework report with timelines.
 - The committee offered additional suggestions
 - Action: Kerri will circulate the accountability framework on Oct. 19, 2022



- 8. Next meeting, October 19, 2022
- 9. Meeting adjourned 5:18 PM.

Members 2020-2021-2022

- Amanda Cockshutt, Faculty
- Megan Fogerty, Staff
- Gord Gallimore, Student
- □ Krista Hanscomb, Staff
- Che Morales, Student
- Ella Mulvihill, Student
- Ornella Nzindukiyimana, Faculty
- □ Shelley Price, Faculty
- Galactic Kerry Prosper, Indigenous Elder
- Sabrina Skinner, Community
- □ Ann Sylliboy, Community
- □ Robert Upshaw, Co-Chair
- Elizabeth Yeo, VP Students Co-Chair
- □ Lynne Delorey, Recording Admin