

## President's Advisory Committee on Anti-Racism (PACAR) June 30, 2021, at 4:00 - 6:00 pm - Teams Minutes

**Attendees:** R. Upshaw (Co-Chair), E. Yeo (Co-Chair), K. Prosper, Dr. T. Hynes, Ornella Nzindukiyimana, Shelley Price, Lee Anna Osei, Ann Sylliboy, Sabrina Skinner, Che Morales, Gord Gallimore Lynne Delorey; Recording secretary

Regrets: Krista Hanscomb, Ella Mulvihill

- 1. The Co- chairs called the meeting to order welcomed everyone.
- 2. The Agenda was approved as circulated
- 3. The minutes from meeting on June 9, 2021, were approved as circulated.
- 4. No Business Arising from minutes.
- 5. CO-chairs Update
  - Robert's presentation focused on StFX's current developing 5-year strategic plan (2022-27) as well as the 5 strategic initiatives currently in process and how PACAR can engage with each; providing initiatives, which this committee recommends in dealing with racism at StFX, while creating PACAR's own action plan.
  - The planning steps for the proposed Anti-Racism Summit was also discussed.
  - PACAR's 'working groups' logistics was communicated and reviewed.
  - PACAR's timelines were presented. (Slide deck was distributed to committee)
  - Elizabeth spoke of an interim report to be presented to inform of the short-term work (Phase I) PACAR has completed to date.
- 6. Harassment and Discrimination Policy
  - Elizabeth reviewed the current policy (policy was distributed by email to committee)



- 7. Communication Strategy
  - Survey results were received and framed and will be sent to committee.
- 8. Land Acknowledgement by Elder Prosper
- 9. Overview / Next Steps
  - Student Stipends will be confirmed next week.
  - A doodle poll for PACAR meetings in the next term will be sent in mid August.
  - Action publish Megan Fogarty's new title 'Manger of Human Rights & Equity
- 10. Next meeting July 21, 2021
- 11. Meeting adjourned 6PM

Members 2020-2021:	
	Robert Upshaw, Co-Chair
	Elizabeth Yeo, VP Students Co-Chair
	Kerry Prosper, Indigenous Elder
	Dr. Tim Hynes, Faculty
	Ornella Nzindukiyimana, Faculty
	Shelley Price, Faculty
	Krista Hanscomb, Staff
	Lee Anna Osei, Staff
	Ann Sylliboy, Community
	Sabrina Skinner, Community
	Ella Mulvihill, Student
	Che Morales, Student
	Gord Gallimore, Student
	Lynne Delorey, Recording Admin