

## President's Action Committee on Anti-Racism (PACAR) February 1, 2023, 4 – 6 PM

## Minutes

Attendees: C. Morales, O. Nzindukiyimana, S. Price, A. Sylliboy, R. Upshaw (Co-Chair), E. Yeo

(Co-Chair), L. Delorey (Recording secretary)

**Regrets:** A. Cockshutt, M. Fogerty, K. Hanscomb, G. Galimore, E. Mulvihill, K. Prosper,

S. Skinner

Invited Guest: K. Arthurs

1. The Co-chairs called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone at 4:00 PM.

2. The agenda was approved as circulated. Moved: E. Yeo Seconded: O. Nzindukiyimana.

- 3. The Minutes from November 9, 2022 were approved. Moved: A. Sylliboy Seconded: C. Morales
- 4. No Business arising from the Minutes.
- 5. Co-chairs Update
  - The Co-chairs met with Leadership team to present and discuss the draft report.
  - Met with President Hakin for feedback as well.
  - Met with Equity Advisory Committee as well, to get feedback on the report.
  - Elizabeth updated the group on the announcement on the Bell Canada funding, being used to hire peer equity mentors to work with our communities.
  - Working with Rainbow Diversity Institute on employment equity for the retention of staff.
  - Several meetings with colleagues at NS Health to create a more inclusive workspace.
  - A reminder to partake in the events scheduled for African Heritage month in February.



- ACTION: Lynne to send link from Megan re: Dr. Marie Baptiste lecture at CBU
- 6. Discussion on the PACAR Report final presentation.
  - K. Arthurs reviewed the report with the committee.
  - A roundtable discussion was had with shared suggestions.
  - Action: Robert and Ann to send Kerri images to place as watermarks in document.
- 7. Discussion and editing on the one-page summary.
  - This document will provide our student, faculty & staff with the key messages found in the full report. It is by no means a substitution for the full PACAR report.
- 8. Next meeting, March 15, 2023
- 9. Meeting adjourned 5:30 PM.

## Members 2020-2021-2022

| Amanda Cockshutt, Faculty           |
|-------------------------------------|
| Megan Fogerty, Staff                |
| Gord Gallimore, Student             |
| Krista Hanscomb, Staff              |
| Che Morales, Student                |
| Ella Mulvihill, Student             |
| Ornella Nzindukiyimana, Faculty     |
| Shelley Price, Faculty              |
| Kerry Prosper, Indigenous Elder     |
| Sabrina Skinner, Community          |
| Ann Sylliboy, Community             |
| Robert Upshaw, Co-Chair             |
| Elizabeth Yeo, VP Students Co-Chair |
| Lynne Delorey Recording Admin       |