Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

CASPer Admission Requirement

All applicants interested in admission to a Nursing program at StFX are required to complete a CASPer Assessment prior to their respective application deadlines.

This test is an online screening tool designed to evaluate the student’s personal and professional characteristics. The test is mandatory for all students who wish to be considered for Nursing. Knowing that academic knowledge is not always the best indicator of a superior applicant, CASPer allows our admissions team to gain a better understanding of each applicant, beyond cognitive measures. CASPer assesses non-cognitive skills and interpersonal characteristics.

CASPer Test Date Options

  • Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Tuesday, November 24, 2020 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Tuesday, January 12, 2021 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Thursday, February 11, 2021 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Thursday, February 11, 2021 at 8 p.m. EST (9 p.m. AST)
  • Sunday, February 28, 2021 at 1 p.m. EST (2 p.m. AST)
  • Sunday, February 28, 2021 at 4 p.m. EST (5 p.m. AST) 

February 28, 2021 is the deadline to submit an admission application to the 4-year BScN (September 2021 start) and LPN to BScN (May 2021 start) programs.

  • Tuesday, April 6, 2021 at 5 p.m. EST (6 p.m. AST)
  • Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at 8 p.m. EST (9 p.m. AST)

August 3, 2021 is the deadline to submit an admission application to the Accelerated Nursing (January 2022 start) program.

Please Note: Applicants who apply to any nursing program after the last determined CASPer date will not be considered for Nursing. Applications without CASPer scores will be deemed to be incomplete and will be processed for their second choice. 

Registration:

  • StFX applicants will need to create an account at takeCASPer.com. 
  • To register for the CASPer test students will use their StFX student number and a government-issued photo ID.
  • Applicants will receive their StFX student number by email once a Nursing application has been submitted. Please reach out to admit@stfx.ca if you misplace your StFX student number.
  • CASPer test results are valid for one StFX admission cycle.

Test Fees

  • CASPer fees are paid online at the time the test is booked.
  • The cost to take the CASPer assessment is $40 (CAD)
  • A fee to distribute your results to the institutions you select - $12 (CAD) per school. 

For more information on CASPer please visit takeCASPer.com or direct any inquiries on the test to support@takecasper.com.

Test Structure

  • The CASPer test comprises 12 sections of video and written scenarios. Following each scenario, you will be required to answer a set of probing questions under a strict time limit.
  • No studying is required for CASPer, although you may want to familiarize yourself with the test structure at takeCASPer.com



Technical Requirements

CASPer test takers are responsible for securing access to a computer on the selected test date with the following:

  1. Audio capabilities
  2. Webcam
  3. Reliable internet connection

Please note that CASPer's policy states no exceptions will be provided for applicants unable to take CASPer online due to being located at sites where internet is not reliable due to technical or political factors. Tests cannot be rescheduled once the content has been viewed.

Accommodations

Applicants should be aware that requests can be made if an accommodation is required for the assessment. A formal request and supporting documentation must be provided at least three weeks in advance of the applicant taking the test, in order to allow sufficient time for document review and a decision on appropriate accommodation.

Please visit takeCASPer.com or email support@takecasper.com for more information. 

Start Your Journey