Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

StFX faculty awarded over $425,000 in NSERC Discovery Grant funding

October 12th, 2018
L-r, Dr. Mike Melchin; Central Nova MP Sean Fraser; Dr. Karine LeBris, Dr. Gerry Marangoni, Dr. Jamie Braid, and StFX VP Research and Graduate Studies Dr. Richard Isnor at the announcement.

StFX celebrated an announcement of over $425,000 in new research funds from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Discovery Grants on Oct. 11 when Central Nova MP Sean Fraser visited campus to make the announcement and deliver remarks. 

StFX faculty receiving awards in the 2018 NSERC Discovery Grant competition include:

• Dr. Mike Melchin, Earth Sciences, who received $29,000/year for five years, totaling $145,000, plus an additional $45,000 Northern Research Supplement ($9,000/year for five years).

• Dr. Jamie Braid, Earth Sciences, received $21,000/year for five years, totaling $105,000.

• Dr. Gerry Marangoni, Chemistry, received $22,000/year for five years, totaling $110,000.

• Dr. Karine LeBris, Physics, received a Discovery Development Grant of $10,000/year for 2 years, totaling $20,000 that will be supplemented by $5,000/year from StFX.

StFX Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies, Dr. Richard Isnor, thanked Mr. Fraser and the Government of Canada for the investment in scholarship. 

“The NSERC Discovery Grants are critical for providing a diverse base of scientific research and training students of all types, in universities and communities across Canada,” he says.  

“These grant applications receive rigorous peer review and successful applicants truly represent research excellence in their respective fields. I would like to congratulate our 2018 Discovery Grant recipients and recognize the research efforts of all StFX NSERC Discovery Grant holders.”

L-r, StFX students and 2018 NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award Holders, Mary Besaw (Earth Sciences), Grace Tompkins (Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Science), Patrick O’Brien (Physics), Central Nova MP Sean Fraser, Liam Farrell (Physics), and Sachin Mohandas (Physics/ Mathematics) 

This research is, in part, made possible by the Government of Canada Research Support Fund.


Start Your Journey