Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

Excellence in undergraduate research shines through at Annual Student Research Day

April 2nd, 2015
Participants in the 13th Annual Student Research Day included, l-r, Victoria Bernard, Alyson Woods, Kelsie Moore, and Natalie Rosedale

Excellence in undergraduate research at StFX was certainly evident during the very successful 13th Annual Student Research Day held March 26 where students from across campus ably demonstrated their research work.

“I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of students’ presentations. In fact the adjudicators said their task was very difficult as they thought all the presenters were exceptional,” says organizer human kinetics professor Dr. Angie Kolen. 
“Congratulations to the following students, and their supervisors, for fantastic presentations at the 13th Annual Student Research Day.” 
Prize recipients from the day included:
Outstanding Community Based Research Project, Sponsored by StFX Service Learning Program – Alyson Woods, Victoria Bernard, Natalie Rosedale, and Kelsie Moore, Human Kinetics.
SafetyNet-RX Awards, sponsored by the SafetyNet-RX Research Lab and Dr. Todd Boyle, Canada Research Chair:
Gold: Valérie Lemay, Psychology
Silver: Laura Sandre, Human Kinetics
Bronze: Hannah Mahwhinney, Human Nutrition
Recognizing determinants of health and health equity, sponsored by the National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health/ Centre de collaboration nationale des déterminants de la santé
Gold: Janelle Boudreau, Nursing
Silver: Holly Amos, Human Nutrition
Silver: Melissa Gottschall, Business Administration
StFX Bookstore Student Research Day Award - posters:
Gold: Matthew Del Bel Belluz, Economics, 
Gold: Graham Haynes, Business Administration
Gold: Mitch George, Human Kinetics
Silver: Jessica Barrington, Psychology
Silver: Keirsten Wilson, Human Kinetics
Silver: Rob Slaney, Human Kinetics
Bronze: Rachel Lynch, Economics
Bronze: Andrea Celeen, Human Kinetics
Bronze: Dan Boucher, Human Kinetics
StFX Bookstore Student Research Day Awards – oral presentations:
Gold: Laryssa Halat, Biology
Silver: Sara Gitto, Biology
Bronze: Sarah Van de Reep, Biology
Dr. Kolen thanked StFX President Dr. Kent MacDonald, AVP Dr. Leslie MacLaren, Dean of Arts Dr. Richard Nemesvari, and VP Research Dr. Richard Isnor for providing words of welcome and support at the event.
She also thanked adjudicators Charlene Weaving, Charmaine MacPherson, Dan Kane, Doris Gillis, Lori Graham, Erika Koch, Evelise Bourlon, Jacques Boucher, JeanGuy Lalande, Jen Jamieson, Karen Brebner, Jane MacMillan, Marcia English, Matt Palmer, Mel Lam, Moira Galway, Norine Verberg, Peter Clancy, Petra Hauf, Richard Isnor, Santo Dodaro, Sasho MacKenzie, Shah Gulam Razul,  Steve Baldner, Sunny Wang, Tara Taylor, and Wendy Kraglund-Gauthier.
Dr. Kolen also recognized and thanked the generous support of sponsors Angus L. Macdonald Library, Dr. Richard Isnor, Associate Vice-President Research, John Blackwell, Director Research Grants Office, Andrew Kendall, Industry Liaison Office, SafetyNET-Rx, Dr. Todd Boyle, Canada Research Chair, Schwartz School of Business, National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health/ Centre de collaboration nationale des déterminants de la santé, St. Francis Xavier University Bookstore, and St. Francis Xavier University Service Learning.

Start Your Journey