Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

StFX chemistry students enjoy success at Science Atlantic Chemistry Conference 

July 8th, 2021
Pictured, l-r: Megan Ethier, Mackenzie LeVernois, Kyla MacDonald, Darian MacLean, Dr. Geniece Hallett-Tapley, Jordan Stuart, Dr. Erwan Bertin, Aaron Mason, Rylan Clark. Missing: Dr. Brian MacLean, Dr, Gerry Marangoni and Nicole MacNeil.

StFX chemistry students had a successful showing at the recent Science Atlantic Chemistry Conference held virtually at Mount Allison University, with three students winning awards.

StFX award winners included:

• Rylan Clark (supervisor, Dr. Erwan Bertin)—second place, poster, Physical Chemistry Division

• Megan Ethier (supervisor, Dr. Geniece Hallett-Tapley)—second place, poster, Organic Chemistry Division

• Darian MacLean (supervisor, Dr. Geniece Hallett-Tapley)—third place, oral, Organic Chemistry Division.

In all, eight StFX students attended the conference along with four faculty members. Attendees included Darian MacLean, Mackenzie LeVernois, Megan Ethier, Nicole MacNeil, Rylan Clark, Jordan Stuart, Aaron Mason and Kyla MacDonald, along with faculty members Dr. Geniece Hallett-Tapley, Dr. Erwan Bertin, Dr. Brian MacLean, and Dr. Gerry Marangoni.

The conference welcomed over 100 student participants from across the Atlantic provinces. 

Of the StFX students, seven were first time conference attendees, including each of the award winners.

“We are extremely proud of the hard work and dedication all of our students put into their presentations, especially under these unprecedented circumstances,” said Dr. Hallett-Tapley, who mentioned that all students did extremely well. 

Next year, StFX will host this conference, with Chemistry Society co-presidents Jordan Stuart and Jenna MacPhee as organizers. 

“Our undergraduates are enthusiastically in the initial stages of planning and are looking forward to welcoming our fellow chemists from around the Atlantic region to StFX in May 2022,” says Dr. Hallett-Tapley.   

This research is, in part, made possible by the Government of Canada Research Support Fund.


Start Your Journey