Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

Well-known journalist Linden MacIntyre to take the stage to deliver the Allan J. MacEachen Lecture in Politics at StFX

January 17th, 2019
Linden MacIntyre

Well-known journalist and author Linden MacIntyre will deliver this year’s Allan J. MacEachen Annual Lecture Series in Politics at StFX. The lecture, open to the public, takes place on Thursday, Jan. 24 at 7:30 p.m. in the Schwartz Auditorium. Mr. MacIntyre’s talk is entitled “Whatsoever things are lies: Twilight time for truth and liberty.” 

This annual lecture series was established in 1996 through the generous support of friends and associates of the late Hon. Allan J. MacEachen. 

Over the years, speakers at the MacEachen Lecture, now in its 22nd year, have included four former Canadian prime ministers, the Rt. Hon. Paul Martin, the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, the Rt. Hon. John Turner, and the Rt. Hon. Jean Chretien, as well as a number of distinguished academics, politicians, journalists and a justice of the Supreme Court. Past speakers have also included Preston Manning, the Hon. Bob Rae, the Hon. Frank McKenna, Dalton Camp, Senator Jerry Grafstein, the Hon. Roy Romanow, Dr. Margaret MacMillan, Dr. Jennifer Welsh, the Hon. Flora MacDonald, Senator Lowell Murray, the Hon. Dr. Donald J. Johnston, Allan Gregg and the Rt. Hon. Beverley McLachlin.

At this year's event, StFX President Dr. Kent MacDonald will deliver welcoming remarks and the Honourable Lowell Murray will introduce Mr. MacIntyre. StFX political science professor Dr. Jim Bickerton will serve as master of ceremonies. 

Mr. MacIntyre was born in Newfoundland and grew up in Cape Breton. He is a graduate of StFX and worked for many years as a journalist, first in print, then broadcasting. He spent 24 years as the co-host of the Fifth Estate and has won 10 Gemini awards for his work there.

His bestselling first novel, The Long Stretch, was nominated for a CBA Libris Award and his boyhood memoir, Causeway: A Passage from Innocence, won both the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Nonfiction and the Evelyn Richardson Prize. His second novel, The Bishop’s Man, was a #1 national bestseller, won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Dartmouth Book Award and the CBA Libris Fiction Book of the Year Award, among other honours. The third book in the loose-knit trilogy, Why Men Lie, was also a #1 national bestseller as well as a Globe and Mail “Can’t Miss” Book for 2012. His most recent novels are Punishment, in 2014, and The Only Café, 2017. He is working on a non-fiction project based in Newfoundland scheduled for publication in 2019.


Start Your Journey