Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

StFX thanks, celebrates donors during 43rd annual President’s Gala

June 17th, 2017
StFX celebrates and thanks donors during 43rd annual President’s Gala Dinner

StFX alumni, friends and supporters were thanked and honoured during a special evening of celebration and recognition, coming together June 17, 2017 for the 43rd annual President’s Gala Dinner held at the Keating Centre.

The evening annually thanks members of the President’s Club for their support, and recognizes those members reaching milestones, including new Lifetime Xaverian Patrons, new 20-Year Xaverian Patrons and new 10-Year Xaverian Patrons. 

“StFX’s outstanding reputation is due in no small part to the support of our generous donors,” Master of Ceremonies Murray Kyte, StFX Vice President, Advancement, told the crowd gathered as he thanked them for their support.

He said on this night he’s reminded why people give and support StFX. One constant is the opportunity to make a difference in assisting students, to make a difference in their lives.

Thanks to this commitment, students in turn have an opportunity to learn and grow and to have a significant positive impact on society, he said. “They are our leaders of tomorrow.”

“You’ve made a significant difference,” StFX Director of Development Wendy Langley told the crowd as she announced that since its inception the President’s Club has raised $140 million for StFX.

“StFX is truly fortunate to have such generous patrons. Thank you all.”

Students’ Union president Annie Sirois, who has consistently been a dean’s list student, echoed this thanks as she delivered the student acknowledgement.

Annie Sirois

“Your individual contributions have had a collective impact that has provided the space for StFX to become the premier university it is today,” she said as she noted how StFX’s generous donors have paved the road toward success for students. Through scholarships and bursaries, donors have helped students who may not otherwise have had opportunity to attend StFX, she says.

“Your presence here is undeniable,” she said.

“Thank you all, genuinely, from the bottom of my heart, for all you’ve done for students.”

In his remarks, StFX President Dr. Kent MacDonald highlighted a number of academic, research, and athletic successes of the past year, and updated the crowd on upcoming projects including the transformational Xaverian Commons and Mulroney Institute. He also highlighted a number of major conferences and events recently hosted on the StFX campus and pointed to the fact it’s important not only for our students, faculty and staff to have world class facilities to learn and research, StFX exists for the entire region to grow and be prosperous.

“It has been a remarkable year. None of this happens without supporters,” he said.

He encouraged alumni and friends if they’re able to continue to contribute time, talent or treasure, to help financially, to volunteer, or to take five minutes to share the news of StFX with students who would appreciate hearing about the university.

Dr. Kent MacDonald

During a special moment during the ceremony, Ms. Langley and StFX X-Women basketball coach Augy Jones proudly announced the donation of $50,000 from the Jeannine Deveau Educational Equity Endowment to help establish the Wade Smith Memorial Scholarship for African Nova Scotia Youth. The scholarship is in honour of Wade Smith ’90, a proud member of the StFX community, who passed away on June 2, 2017.

Mr. Smith was principal of Citadel High School, a former X-Men basketball star, and a 26-year staff member at the StFX basketball camp.

“He would be pleased to know his name will continue to provide post-secondary education opportunities for young students from his community,” friend and former X-Men teammate Mr. Jones said.

“Thank you to Jeannine Deveau and to Bill and Jeannine Gunn for making this happen,” Ms. Langley said.

Augy Jones

At evening’s end, guests were all gifted with a box of Peace by Chocolates and a copy of the children’s book, The ABCs of StFX.

A highlight of the evening is the feting of President’s Club members reaching milestones. In 2016-17, these included:

New Lifetime Xaverian Patrons, recognizing $100,000 and above in lifetime giving:

Glenneth Anderson

Peter & Joanne Brown Foundation

Kevin and Karen Chadwick

Victor and Mona Dahdaleh

Jonathan H. Deitcher

Daniel J. Gillis

M. Teresa MacIsaac

Frank J. McGilly

Peter and Melanie Munk Charitable Foundation

James A. Pattison

Ted and Ann Turcotte

Mark Wallace and Anita Lorelli

New 20-Year Xaverian Patrons, recognizing 20 consecutive years of President’s Club membership:

James G. Barrett

Valerie A. Bobyk

Mary A. Cameron

Edward and Mary Doherty

Hon. William F. Fitzgerald

Michael A. MacKinnon

John M. McFarland

New 10-Year Xaverian Patrons, recognizing 10 consecutive years of President’s Club membership:

Mark and Susan Barclay

Loretta Bennett

John and Anne Birks

Michael and Colleen Chisholm

Dr. David R. Cranton

Hon. Paul S. Creaghan

Tim and Jane Elliott

Marc Furlotte

Patrick J. Jancsy

Richard and Linda Johnson

Dr. Michael V. Keating

Marinda M. MacDonald

Harley and Wendy MacCaull

Tom McGowan and Sarah Stone


Start Your Journey