Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

ACENET: Parallel Computing School 2022

Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - 1:00pm to Friday, July 8, 2022 - 3:00pm
Location: Online

ACENET's PCS seeks to educate participants in common tools and techniques used in high-performance computing and scientific computation.

About this event

The format is two 2-hour sessions per week over six weeks (omitting the week of May 24). In the course of 12 sessions we will cover general parallel computing, Dask, Machine Learning, OpenMP programming, GPU accelerator programming, and Message Passing Interface (MPI) programming.

  • Wednesday, May 25, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Friday, May 27, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Monday, May 30, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 1, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Monday, June 6, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 8, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Monday, June 13, 1:00-4:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 15, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Monday, June 20, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 22, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Monday, June 27, 1:00-3:00 pm
  • Wednesday, June 29, 1:00-3:00 pm

All times above are in Atlantic time (UTC-3:00).

Each two-hour session will include a lecture and learning exercises. These will be oriented to those learners seeking a more advanced experience. There will be online office hours each week so participants can ask questions about the course content and exercises.

The course is aimed at researchers and innovators, both academic and industrial. The background expected is typically that of a graduate student, although both advanced undergraduates and those who have finished (or never been to) graduate school may expect to benefit. Participants must have familiarity with the Unix command line, such as one might have upon completion of the ACENET Basics Series, and have some level of programming experience.

Participants must have a computer with a Mac, Linux, or Windows operating system (not a tablet, Chromebook, etc.). As with any on-line course, a headset and a second monitor will be of benefit.

Participants must register using their institutional / organizational email address (not a personal email, ie. gmail)

Instructions on how to connect will be provided prior to the event.

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 

Start Your Journey